February 27, 2009

You Ask, I Answer: Soy Lecithin

What exactly is soy lecithin and why is it added to foods?

Should I be concerned about it?


-- Dennise O'Grady

Bay Head, NJ


Soy lecithin is a byproduct of refined soy or sunflower oils.

It is mainly used as an emulsifier and stabilizer in foods as well as to provide better textures to powdered beverage mixes, salad dressings, and low-fat packaged foods.

You'll usually see soy lecithin at the end of ingredient lists because it is used in such miniscule amounts (usually no more than 1.3 percent of the food product's total weight.)

The Food & Drug Administration places soy lecithin in their list of Generally Recognized as Safe foods.

Interestingly, allergy information is not consistent. Since soy lecithins contain negligible amounts of soy protein, most people with soy allergies can consume them without experiencing any side effects.

There have been, however, scattered reports of allergic reactions.

Some people -- particularly vegans -- like to sprinkle soy lecithin granules over soups, salads, and cereals as a way to add choline to their diet.

Makes sense to me.

The best sources of choline are beef and egg yolks, but a single tablespoon of soy lecithin granules provides half of the daily adequate intake figure (other vegan sources, like peanut butter and cauliflower, contribute anywhere from 6 to 12 percent of adequate intake value per serving).

1 comment:

Kate said...

Ah, I keep reading about how lecithin helps if you're breastfeeding and have recurrent plugged ducts, but I never knew what it was.